who is swampy?

Not my real name, obviously.

I’m a genderqueer/non-binary person of primarily Scottish and Irish heritage, who is nearing the end of my 30th decade.

I was born and raised in a very small, conservative, rural town in southwest Georgia, USA. How I came to be the way I am is still a mystery to everyone. I once claimed I was hatched from an egg.

I was a really precocious kid, and started reading when I was 3. My mom says I could identify the letters of the alphabet before I could walk. As a result I’ve always spent a lot of time reading and writing.

I lived in the same house until I was 18, but as an adult I’ve moved around a lot, having had residences in 4 different states in the last decade. At present I live in North Carolina with my romantic partner and my cat. We’re probably going to move somewhere new in the next year or two.

I’m one of the lucky few who has an art degree and actually makes a living with art. Notice I said I ‘make a living,’ not that I’m wealthy.

Probably my biggest passion in life is traveling, not only because I love seeing new places, meeting new people, and experiencing new things, but also because I always learn something about myself when I do — especially when I travel by myself. I’ve struggled with social anxiety my whole life, so getting outside of my comfort zone in this way has been extremely beneficial to my overall mental health.

I got my first tattoo in 2008, and at this point can no longer count them. I’d estimate about 40% of my body is covered. One day I might write about my tattoos since most of them have stories. Other than traveling, tattoos are the only expensive thing I buy. Being tattooed has been instrumental in learning to be at peace with my corporeal meat vessel, since I struggled with body and gender related dysphoria a lot when I was younger.

I’m kind of a crunchy person at heart: vegan, reformed hoarder turned minimalist, ex-shopaholic who now primarily thrifts and upcycles, aspiring toward a “zero waste” lifestyle. I’m always striving become a more compassionate, environmentally aware, conscious consumer.

I jokingly call myself a “secret goth” because while I love the music and all things spooky, the whole gothic aesthetic is too high maintenance for me.

I wouldn’t describe myself as particularly athletic, but I do enjoy running obscenely long distances, and have completed about a dozen half and full marathons since I started running races in 2015. My goal is to do at least one ultramarathon (30+ miles) someday. I also enjoy social running, and since 2009 I have been a member of the Hash House Harriers, a worldwide “drinking club with a running problem” — even though I no longer drink alcohol. This is where the nickname Swampy came from.

I’m hoping to start a YouTube channel in addition to this blog, so we’ll see if that materializes anytime soon. I hate the way my voice sounds in recordings, because I think I sound like a Squidbillies character.

it me